Movie Recommendation: Poverty, Inc.

“The reason there will be no change is because the people who stand to lose from change have all the power. And the people who stand to gain from change have none of the power.”

-Machiavelli

“To donate today, text HELP to (insert number today).”

“Would you like to donate a dollar to (insert name of charitable organization) with your purchase today?”

Frequently, we have opportunities to help others in need. In an age of technology, helping others can be done conveniently, quickly, and often at little to no cost to us. Unfortunately, however, our attempts to “help others” can cost the people we are trying to help quite a bit.

This blog is going to be a little different than my  usual blogging because rather than giving you the facts, I just want to point you right to a source. I love documentaries and recently I had the opportunity to watch a documentary called Poverty, Inc. with some of my church family. Wow, it was so eye-opening. The film covered topics like non-governmental organizations (NGOs), which are non-profits, charitable organizations, social entrepreneurship, and the countries that are affected by the organizations. One thing that the film seemed to highlight time and time again was the desire for people to help others, but not taking the time to understand the cultures they are helping and what can actually help them. Therefore, we aren’t always able to help people in the ways that they need most. We aren’t being effective.

I know that all sounds gloomy, but the film shows exactly what some of the biggest problems are in the way that we approach helping other people, so we can actually see what we’re doing and start making changes for the better. Additionally, the film sh0wcases some cool, unique organizations that are helping people tremendously. You even get to hear some of the success stories!

I wish I could tell you guys more about how great this movie is, but I don’t want to give any spoilers. You can check out the trailer here, and the documentary is on Netflix as well.

Author: Unboxing Faith

I'm a college student who loves Pinterest, Netflix, macaroni & cheese, doodling, and studying and writing about religion, philosophy, and Christian apologetics. I know, I usually lose people at that last little bit. My hobbies are a little different, and I'm a little weird, but I'm cool with it. Enough about me, though. Let's talk about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

