Get Involved: Organizations that Make a Difference

I’m not going to lie. It’s 11 at night and I don’t want to write the last relativism blog because I don’t remember where I found one of my sources and I need some time to track it down. So here I am, writing a blog that’s not about relativism. College problems. Despite my last-minute change in plans, I’ve actually been thinking about writing this blog all day, so I’m pretty excited about it.

In the past couple of days, I’ve recommended a documentary that talks about different charitable organizations and how they can be damaging to cultures, but also the need for Christians to testify to the truth and get involved with social justice causes. You might be thinking, “What gives? You’re just going to tell us we’re messing up and not give any other options for us to get involved?”, and so far, I can see how it could appear that way. But no worries, because here I am, coming at you live with a few impressive organizations that are really worth looking into.

Today I went to the Truth Festival in Belmont, North Carolina. It was really fun, and I had a great time talking to representatives at a few of the tables from different organizations.

The person at the first table I stopped at represented Voice of the Martyrs. This organization supports and serves persecuted Christians all over the world. I watched a documentary with a church once from Voice of the Martyrs, and I remember being shocked at the conditions that Christians have to live in in some countries. It’s so mind-blowing to think that some mornings, I’ve complained about how early church is and how I wish I could go to the 11 o’clock service. I am so blessed. But then I see people who are praising God, even though doing so could kill them, and that’s when I realize how comfortable we can be here. Our brothers and sisters need our help. To learn more about hostile and restricted nations in the world, click here, and to get involved, click here.

The second person I talked to was from an organization called JAARS. Did you know that there are THOUSANDS of languages that the Bible isn’t available fully in? I sure didn’t. I was shocked. But there are people groups all over the world that don’t have access to all of Scripture, and some don’t even have part of Scripture. JAARS works to learn about cultures and their languages, and then translates the Bible so that more people can read the word of God. The person I talked to emphasized that a plethora of different skills can be used for translation. If you want to serve, pray, or give to JAARS, check out their website here. 

The third organization I talked to was Ratio Christi. Ratio Christi wasn’t even remotely new to me because I’ve been involved in it for years. Ratio Christi helps to strengthen the faiths of Christians in college by teaching them how they can know what the believe is true. Apologetics is something I am passionate about, and it has shaped the way I view my faith, as well as the way I live. More recently, Ratio Christi has started their Ratio Christi College Prep program. Why wait until you’re in college to start learning how to defend your beliefs? Not only have I become more confident in my faith and had numerous opportunities to take what I’ve learned as a Ratio Christi student to share my faith and have fun discussions with others, I have gotten to see young people become more confident in their faith as well. I’m really not exaggerating when I say that Ratio Christi was life-changing for me. To gain more resources, donate, learn about different chapters so you can pray for them, or to learn about starting your own chapter, click here.

There are so many amazing opportunities for us to help others and stand for truth. These are just three favorites. I might expand this a little more later, so until then, if you have an organization you are passionate about, leave the name in the comments!

Author: Unboxing Faith

I'm a college student who loves Pinterest, Netflix, macaroni & cheese, doodling, and studying and writing about religion, philosophy, and Christian apologetics. I know, I usually lose people at that last little bit. My hobbies are a little different, and I'm a little weird, but I'm cool with it. Enough about me, though. Let's talk about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

