Singing with Joy

I enjoy writing about intellectual, deep topics, but if you couldn’t tell from my references to macaroni and cheese-cooking bowls, pre-sliced peanut butter slices, Christian rap songs, and the Power Rangers, I like to have a lot of fun with what I write. Annnd, I’m a little quirky. Writing is something I’ve enjoyed for a long time, and it’s actually something I like to do for fun. Yeah, this is for school, but it’s a highlight of the week for me, even if I do publish a lot of blogs at the last second, because I get to do something that really brings me joy.

As I sat in my dorm tonight, I struggled to come up with a topic that I could write about naturally at 11 p.m., when I’m still hyped about a football game win (even though I really don’t understand football, I just have team spirit), and I’ve had an excessive amount of caffeine. I’m a little jittery, really. I’ve been sing-songy today, though, so I wanted to write a lower-key blog about one of my favorite things: music.

Specifically, I wanted to write about some of my favorite Christian songs. If a song is glorifying to God, I’m going to like the intention, but I’m still sort of picky about what Christian music I listen to. I like music that has a deep message and makes you think. I also really like Christian music that puts the focus on what God has done for us more than it does on Christians. I mean, I know we’re His people, but God is SO AWESOME, and He saved us, ya feel? My musical tastes are always changing, and I’m all the time finding new songs that I love, but I wanted to hit y’all with my top five Jesus jams at the moment.

1. “Crowns & Thorns” by KB

If you’re sick of hearing “Oceans”, you might be a little thrown by the start to this song, because that’s what it starts with. I love the song, though, because it tells a story of a person who starts strong in their faith, struggles and messes up, and then leans on God, relying on Him to pull him through. The verses totally changes the meaning of “Spirit, lead me where my trust is without borders.” It’s not the same praising tone, but rather, the song seems to be crying out to God for guidance. I love that. We can’t do this life thing on our own. I love the message and tone of this song.

2. “A Hymn For All the World” by Josh Bales 

I first heard Josh Bales at a Summit Ministries conference in Dayton, TN. He lead worship for us each night. I loved all the songs we sang of his, but I particularly liked “A Hymn For All the World” and the album that it came from entitled The Birds Their Carols Raise. The Song is like a prayer to God that praises Him and brings Him glory. Check out the entire album. It’s really good.

3. “I Can’t Save Myself” by Morgan Harper Nichols

Confession time: I have a tendency to want to be a little too self-reliant. I do lean on spiritual community and pray and all, but sometimes I just want to think I can do everything myself. It’s disappointing when I’m hit with the realization that I can’t do life on my own. I screw up. I’m human. I’m sinful. I need God. And when I do mess up, when I can’t save myself, God can. He doesn’t leave me. He sticks around. Even when I’m a huge, pathetic mess. This song is a big admission that we can’t save ourselves, and that God won’t leave us alone. How beautiful is that?

4. “I Saw the Light/ I’ll Fly Away Hoedown” by David Crowder

My dad listens to a lot of Southern Gospel music, and I can get down to some of the classics. I love “I Saw the Light” and “I’ll Fly Away”, so when David Crowder sang a mashup of both of those songs at Passion in 2013, it was awesome. I was foot-tapping and dancing and everything. It’s just one of those songs you just gotta love. You just GOTTA.

5. “In Christ Alone” by Christina Grimmie

Another hymn that I love is “In Christ Alone.” Christina Grimmie covered this in 2012, and I was always a huge fan of hers, so I was pumped when the video first came out. Grimmie used her platform on Youtube in an amazing way when she covered the hymn because she was able to share about her faith using her beautiful voice. “In Christ Alone” is neat because it isn’t just talking about how we should depend on Christ. It shows how much hope we have when we stand with Christ. He has conquered the grave and rescued us. This song will always be a favorite.

Those are my top five Christian jams right now! Listen away. Let me know in the comments if you have some other favorites that I should check out.

 

 

 

Author: Unboxing Faith

I'm a college student who loves Pinterest, Netflix, macaroni & cheese, doodling, and studying and writing about religion, philosophy, and Christian apologetics. I know, I usually lose people at that last little bit. My hobbies are a little different, and I'm a little weird, but I'm cool with it. Enough about me, though. Let's talk about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

