Scientific Evidence for God- Einstein’s Theory of Relativity

Just as  a disclaimer, I pretty much never shut up about Jesus, so if I’m probably going to say something here that I’ve already written about before somewhere; I’m not trying to self-plagiarize. I’m just consistent to a fault. (Can you be consistent to a fault? I don’t actually know.) ANYWAY. 

Isn’t science crazy? It’s amazing to see how it’s advanced over the years, and even before the advancements we have now, we have been able to learn so much from science. We can even look at evidence for God in science.

What If I Told You - what if i told you not all christians hate science

Yup. That’s right, we can look in the natural world using science and find evidence that points to creator. Also, I know science can be kind of heavy sometimes because there’s just so much to learn, so I’ll break this down into a few blogs.

Let’s start out with a logical argument before we jump in. It’s called The Kalam Cosmological Argument.  I’ll lay out the premises and conclusion.

  1. Whatever begins to exist has a cause.
  2. The universe began to exist.
  3. Therefore, the universe has a cause.

The second premise is the one that is often contested because a lot of people don’t think the universe had a definite beginning. There’s plenty of evidence that points to the contrary.

One of my favorite ways to look at the origins of the universe is by using an acronym penned by Norman Geisler and Frank Turek, S.U.R.G.E. For this blog, for clarity’s sake, I want to skip to E, and then we’ll backtrack.

The “E” in S.U.R.G.E.stands for Einstein’s theory of relativity.

Einstein’s theory says that there has to be an absolute beginning to time, space, and matter. The theory, if I narrow it down to the essentials, says that, as one travels back in time, time and space curve in on themselves. If you travel far enough into the past, the universe becomes more and more dense, which causes time and space to curve even more harshly.

Stephen Hawking says that if you were to go back far enough in time, the universe would compress to a point of zero spatial volume and zero matter.  It doesn’t make sense that the universe could come from absolutely nothing, but we now know that there was a point where there really was no natural universe and no components that make up the natural universe.

Okay, pause. What do I mean by nothing? If you didn’t ask this question, I don’t blame you. I never would’ve thought of it. But people challenge me on it all the time, and bring up stuff about quantum mechanics and yada yada yada. Let me be abundantly clear. When I say “nothing”, I don’t mean any of those scientific definitions. I mean your typical definition of nothing. As Aristotle put it, “Nothing is what rocks dream about.”

It’s also important to realize that this research I’ve been discussing has made it clear that time, space, and matter are co-relative. They all exist together and all come into existence at the same time. It’s also important to understand that Einstein’s theory DEMANDS an absolute beginning for time, space, and matter.

As a matter of fact, Einstein was so troubled by the implications of his theory that he added a cosmological constant to the theory so that it would appear as though the universe was infinite, and didn’t need an intelligent designer. The problem was that the way he did his math was fundamentally flawed because he had to divide by zero to come up with his constant. Whoops.

Next time, we’ll kick it back to “S”, which stands for the Second Law of Thermodynamics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Unboxing Faith

I'm a college student who loves Pinterest, Netflix, macaroni & cheese, doodling, and studying and writing about religion, philosophy, and Christian apologetics. I know, I usually lose people at that last little bit. My hobbies are a little different, and I'm a little weird, but I'm cool with it. Enough about me, though. Let's talk about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

