Context, Context, Context! Part 3

I’ve written several blogs on context. Start reading them here!

Since we’re nearing Christmas break, I’m cutting my series short for now. I’ll reconvene a little later; I just won’t be doing three blogs a week.

So far, I’ve covered symbolic context, relational context, and cultural context. All of these contexts are important to understanding different situations in our day-to-day lives, but also in understanding passages of written works, like the Bible. I’ll talk about how context helps in a future blog.

For now, I want to explain another two kinds of context that are important.

The first one is situational context. Situational context is what a person thinks  they are involved in. If I think a situation is horrible, obviously, I’m going to talk about it differently than I would if it was good.

And that leads us to the second kind of context for this blog: inner context. Inner context has to do with how a person feels. This kind of context ties in with the first one. Our moods and emotions sometimes change the way we we feel about situations. In other words, the emotions and moods of people can directly affect the situational context.

I’ll pick up here after break, and we’ll apply some of these kinds of context to several scenarios.

Author: Unboxing Faith

I'm a college student who loves Pinterest, Netflix, macaroni & cheese, doodling, and studying and writing about religion, philosophy, and Christian apologetics. I know, I usually lose people at that last little bit. My hobbies are a little different, and I'm a little weird, but I'm cool with it. Enough about me, though. Let's talk about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

